SemiconductorsBRIEF

TSMC's 2027 Price Hike: Nikkei's Report, the Numbers, and TSMC's Official Response

N
NathanTechnology Editor · Technical Lead
Published · Updated
According to United Daily News (UDN), Nikkei Asia reported that TSMC (台積電) has discussed raising 2027 wafer prices by a base 5%–10%, plus a 10%–15% surcharge on rush high-performance-computing (HPC) orders. Central News Agency (CNA) reports talks ran from June to July, effective early next year. TSMC told Nikkei it does not comment on pricing and calls its approach 'strategic, not opportunistic.'

Nikkei Reports TSMC Plans Up to 10% Price Hike for 2027

According to UDN, which cited a Nikkei Asia report based on unnamed sources, TSMC (台積電) "has held discussions with clients and plans to raise prices by up to 10% in 2027 to cover rising production material costs" 1. CNA's separate report puts the same figure at "up to 10%" for both advanced and mature process wafer foundry services, tied to rising costs for materials, manufacturing equipment, and overseas fab expansion 4. A second UDN article, also sourced to Japanese media, confirms the same ceiling — up to 10% starting in 2027 — plus an additional surcharge on customer add-on orders 14.

Not a Flat Hike: 5%–10% Base Increase, Plus 10%–15% on HPC Rush Orders

The increase is not uniform. UDN reports TSMC has discussed raising base fees by "5% to 10%" with unnamed customers, with Nikkei noting the range could span both advanced and mature process chips 2. CNA, citing sources familiar with the matter, says the base increase "ranges from 5% to 10%, depending on the customer and product" 6. On top of that base rate, CNA reports TSMC plans to charge an extra "10% to 15%" premium specifically on high-performance computing (HPC) chip orders that exceed a customer's original forecast — meaning some advanced-node orders could see a total increase above 10% 7.

Advanced vs. Mature Nodes: 77% of Revenue from 7nm and Below

CNA reports that 7-nanometer and more advanced process technologies accounted for about 77% of TSMC's revenue in the April-to-June 2026 quarter 5. For mature and legacy nodes — 12nm, 16nm, and 28nm among others — CNA reports TSMC "plans to raise prices by up to 10%," though some products will see increases below that level. These mature-node chips made up about 23% of TSMC's most recent quarterly revenue 8.

MetricValueSource
Overall 2027 price ceilingUp to 10%UDN 1, CNA 4, UDN 14
Base price increase5%–10%UDN 2, CNA 6
HPC rush-order surcharge10%–15% extraCNA 7, UDN 14
Revenue share, 7nm+ (Apr–Jun 2026)77%CNA 5
Revenue share, mature nodes23%CNA 8
Memory makers' gross margin (per C.C. Wei)86%CNA 11

Behind the Hike: Rising Costs for Materials, Equipment, and Electricity

UDN reports that "TSMC and other chipmakers are facing a rise in several production input costs, including materials, equipment, and electricity" 3. The report does not disclose specific figures for how much any of these input costs have risen.

Timeline: Talks Started in June, Settled in July, Effective Early Next Year

CNA, citing sources familiar with the matter, reports that "this round of price increases began negotiations around June, was settled in July, and the new prices are set to take effect in early next year" 9.

Who Pays: NVIDIA, Apple, Google, and Other Major Customers

CNA identifies TSMC's major customers as "NVIDIA, Apple, Google, Amazon, Qualcomm, Arm, and MediaTek (聯發科)," describing them as leading global chip design firms 10. The report does not specify which of these customers are party to the reported price discussions.

TSMC's Official Response: 'We Do Not Comment on Pricing'

Asked by Nikkei Asia for comment, TSMC responded that it "does not comment on pricing matters," adding that "our pricing strategy has always been strategic rather than opportunistic. We will continue to work closely with our customers to deliver value" 13. A second UDN report carries an identical July 21 statement from TSMC 15.

CNA also reports separate remarks from TSMC chairman C.C. Wei (魏哲家) at an earnings call, where he said he "envies" memory chipmakers' gross margin of 86% but stressed that TSMC "will not adjust prices the way the memory industry does" 11. Wei added, "we will not suddenly raise prices four or five times over," saying such an increase would be too difficult for customers to sustain 12.

What This Means

The reported figures show a hike that is layered rather than flat: a 5%–10% base increase (E2, E6) that can stack with a further 10%–15% surcharge on HPC rush orders (E7, E14), pushing some advanced-node orders past the 10% headline figure cited by Nikkei (E1, E4). That advanced-node exposure matters given 7nm-and-below processes made up 77% of TSMC's revenue last quarter, against 23% for mature nodes capped at up to 10% (E5, E8). Set against Wei's own comparison — envying memory makers' 86% margin while explicitly ruling out memory-style pricing swings (E11, E12) — TSMC's public statement that its approach is "strategic rather than opportunistic" (E13, E15) reads as a direct contrast to the multiple-fold price swings seen elsewhere in the chip supply chain, even as the company declines to confirm the specific figures reported by Nikkei.

📊 Evidence

FAQ

When would the reported 2027 TSMC price increase take effect?

According to CNA, negotiations for this round of price increases began around June, were settled in July, and the new prices are set to take effect in early next year (E9).

Will TSMC raise prices as sharply as memory chipmakers have?

No. CNA reports that chairman C.C. Wei said he envies memory makers' 86% gross margin but stressed TSMC will not price the way the memory industry does, and would not suddenly raise prices four or five times over (E11, E12).

📎 Sources

  1. money.udn.com
  2. cna.com.tw
  3. money.udn.com

Related data

N
NathanTechnology Editor · Technical Lead

Related

BRIEF

GreenTrans Unveils GT5X, GT3X Quadruped Robots, Targets 100% Taiwan-Made Content by 2027

GreenTrans (綠捷), the robotics subsidiary of China Motor (中華車), unveiled quadruped robots GT5X and GT3X at SEMICON Taiwan 2026, targeting 100% Taiwan-made content by 2027. The robots combine an in-house-designed control unit and battery management system, NVIDIA's Jetson Orin and Isaac Lab platforms, and a new LFP battery developed with Formosa Smart Energy (台塑新智能), while GreenTrans's inspection robots are already deployed in semiconductor fabs.

EffectStory 編輯部 ·
BRIEF

Nvidia Confirms $12.93 Billion Acquisition of Hugging Face

Nvidia confirmed on September 3, 2026 that it agreed to buy Hugging Face for $12.93 billion, exactly $12,930,300,000, gaining the open-source AI hosting platform used by over 18 million developers. CEO Jensen Huang pledged the platform will stay open, with no Nvidia compute required to build on or deploy through it.

EffectStory 編輯部 ·
BRIEF

NVIDIA to Subscribe US$3.5 Billion of MediaTek's Record US$3.9 Billion Convertible Bond

NVIDIA will subscribe US$3.5 billion of MediaTek's US$3.9 billion offshore convertible bond offering, the largest such issuance in Taiwan's capital market history, deepening cooperation in AI infrastructure, edge AI computing, and automotive platforms while marking NVIDIA's first major investment in a Taiwanese company.

EffectStory 編輯部 ·