Waymo and Tesla are testing two different bets on removing the driver. Waymo runs at scale — over 250,000 paid trips a week across four cities — backed by a $5.6 billion funding round and three redundant sensor types, while still leaning on remote human staff. Tesla launched a geofenced Austin pilot with an in-car safety monitor and camera-only sensing, at a far earlier stage.
Removing the driver, keeping remote staff — is the cost eliminated or transferred?
Waymo confirms that its autonomous driver does not operate in full isolation from peopleCITE:E1. When a Waymo vehicle encounters a difficult situation on the road, it can reach out to a human "fleet response agent" for additional informationCITE:E1. Waymo is explicit that this is advisory only: "The Waymo Driver does not rely solely on the inputs it receives from the fleet response agent and it is in control of the vehicle at all times"CITE:E1. That structure means the driver's wage disappears from the cost sheet, but a standing remote-support operation — a kind of help desk for the road — does not.
Sensor economics — Waymo's redundancy vs. How Waymo senses the road
Waymo's sensing relies on multiple complementary sensorsCITE:E5. Waymo's autonomous driver runs three complementary sensor types at once: lidar, which "paints a 3D picture of the vehicle's surroundings"; cameras, which give "a simultaneous 360° view around the vehicle"; and radar, which supplies "an object's distance and speed" using millimeter wave frequenciesCITE:E5. Tesla's robotaxi instead runs on cameras alone, without lidar, a choice that favors cheaper, more scalable hardware at the cost of the sensor redundancy Waymo has built inCITE:E5.
The commercialization gap — Waymo's 250,000 rides a week vs. Tesla's constrained pilot
Waymo is already operating paid service at scale while Tesla is running a supervised, geofenced pilotCITE:E2CITE:E4. Waymo announced in May 2025 that Waymo One "provides more than 250,000 paid trips each week across Phoenix, San Francisco, Los Angeles, and Austin" — a reported operating result, not a targetCITE:E2. Waymo also said it is preparing to bring fully autonomous ride-hailing to Atlanta, Miami, and Washington, D.C. in 2026, expanding from four cities to sevenCITE:E3. Tesla, by contrast, launched robotaxi service in Austin in June 2025 with a human "safety monitor" riding in the front seatCITE:E4. Per Tesla's own published launch terms, as reported by Electrek: "You can request a ride via the app from 6:00 AM to 12:00 AM, within the geofenced area (excluding airports)", and "service may be limited or unavailable in inclement weather"CITE:E4.
| Metric | Waymo | Tesla |
|---|
| Paid trips | 250,000+ per week (May 2025) | Not disclosed |
| Cities in operation | 4 (Phoenix, SF, LA, Austin) | 1 (Austin) |
| Planned 2026 expansion | +3 cities (Atlanta, Miami, Washington, D.C.) | Not disclosed |
| Service hours | Not disclosed | 6:00 AM–12:00 AM |
| In-vehicle human | Remote fleet response agent (off-board) | Safety monitor (front seat) |
| Sensor stack | Lidar + camera + radar | Camera only |
Safety costs converted to savings — how lower crash rates cut insurance and claims
Waymo's own safety data links fewer crashes directly to lower claims costsCITE:E6. Across 220.6 million rider-only miles through March 2026, Waymo reports 94% fewer serious injury or worse crashes and 82% fewer injury-causing crashes than a human-driving benchmark on the same roadsCITE:E6. Waymo also cites a peer-reviewed study finding an 88% reduction in property damage claims and a 92% reduction in bodily injury claimsCITE:E6. Those figures turn a safety record into a line-item cost advantage: fewer crashes and fewer claims should mean lower insurance and liability spending per mile driven.
The capital-intensive expansion problem — how much market does $5.6 billion require?
Waymo's expansion runs on large, up-front capital rather than revenue aloneCITE:E7. In October 2024, Waymo closed "an oversubscribed investment round of $5.6 billion, led by Alphabet, with continued participation from Andreessen Horowitz, Fidelity, Perry Creek, Silver Lake, Tiger Global, and T. Rowe Price"CITE:E7. That sum funds Waymo's city-by-city buildout and fleet deployment — the same expansion that now spans four cities with three more planned for 2026CITE:E3CITE:E7. Waymo's own filing puts the number, and the company's public roadmap gives the only public trip and city figures against which that spend can be measured.
Taken together, the evidence shows two different points on the same cost curve. Waymo has scale (250,000+ trips a week, four operating cities, three more planned) and a safety record (94% fewer serious crashes, 88–92% lower claims) funded by $5.6 billion in outside capital, but it still keeps human fleet response agents in the loopCITE:E1CITE:E2CITE:E3CITE:E6CITE:E7. Tesla has chosen cheaper camera-only hardware but is still running a single-city, geofenced pilot with a human safety monitor in the car and fixed operating hoursCITE:E4CITE:E5. Neither company has published data showing the driver's cost has been removed outright — only that it has been restructured differently in each case.
Author's Take・林紀旭 James Lin
The numbers in this piece point to two different cost structures, not one converging model. Waymo's 250,000 trips a week and $5.6 billion funding round show a company betting that sensor redundancy and remote human backup can be amortized across scale — its 94% and 82% crash-reduction figures are the payoff that funding is meant to buy. Tesla's camera-only stack is the cheaper bet, but its Austin pilot still carries a front-seat safety monitor and fixed 6:00 AM–12:00 AM hours, which is a supervised pilot cost structure, not yet a scaled one. The metric worth watching next is whether Tesla ever publishes a weekly trip count comparable to Waymo's 250,000, and whether the safety monitor seat disappears before or after that number appears — that sequencing will show whether Tesla's low-cost hardware bet can actually replace, rather than just precede, Waymo's human-support model.